~ NLP ~ False Beliefs & That Psychologist I spoke to … ~

I was listening to an audio book I bought on NLP while grocery shopping yesterday. To me it’s just like CBT with a curve ball tossed in, it’s very good and the voice that does it keeps me interested. Not all people should read things aloud to others. It’s comparable to nails on a chalkboard sensory wise when the voice doesn’t sooth my mind at the same time the information is coming across.

It was repeating things I already know however refreshers are always a good thing. Robbins says in order to change a believe which is directly related to NLP/psychology/CBT (reframing) that we have to find proof to give the new belief legs. I agree. However, what if the proof we have is to our detriment? What if the proof that we have from past experiences rears it’s little head and drags us backwards into a place of (fear) complacency?

Meaning, I think about different things all the time and what I need to be doing and I have no motivation for it. My friend upstate says that when I’m ready, I’ll do all of it. Whatever “it” is that we’re talking about at the time.

In other news I have noticed an interesting twist … I once told someone that there are things that draw people to one another. They’re neatly embedded things from our life experience which trigger familiarity in another human being and recently I’ve discovered certain humans who have certain character traits are a fairly large draw. It only happens with certain people though because they have those traits. None of which I care to discuss. What I am paying more attention to is the opposite. When there is a group of people with completely opposite traits that sooth you, paying more attention to them is much better.

Oh! I spoke to a psychologist the other day about another matter. Initially when they’d called the office, they must have been in a douche mood. I figured it was due to the fact that they were vague in their leading questions and I wouldn’t give them what they wanted, which was more information and they seemed… upset by this. Speculation. They called again and were quite pleasant and direct and we discussed life coaching and psychology becaaause I brought it up.

There was a window and I took it. He was more than willing to discuss such things and I was pleasantly surprised that he thought it had value. I do too, I simply think some life coaches may over promise and I think that’s not good. You know, if you don’t do the work (which is true) you won’t change, etc., etc. I went on to discuss with him how some of the people who I spoke to way back when, now as well, needed more than a life coach w/o any psychological training or knowledge. Aside from having to go back to work at the time I also realized there was a very important aspect of life coaching a person should have. He agreed and we went on to discuss how life coaching is very beneficial and is void of the licensing issues that psychologists have and I agree with that. Life coaching gives you a certification, by passing a test, the place you take your course at gives you.

He mentioned that many life coaches were psychologists and he’s right. I’ve seen many who have and do life coaching. I remember this one guy years ago I’d spoken to was like, “It’s very difficult, I have this one client who I have to scream at”. LOLOL Wow that memory is like 12 years old. He was a nice fella too actually, now that I’m thinking about it.

Anyway, it was really cool to have an open discussion with this man which I would not have had, had I stuck with my initial perception of him. We talked for a good 10 minutes about variables and how people think, etc., which was really cool.

Anyway I have to go. :)

This entry was posted in Personal growth. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ~ NLP ~ False Beliefs & That Psychologist I spoke to … ~

  1. Phil says:

    NLP applied to dieting:

    You want the salad… … …
    You crave the salad… … …
    You neeeeeed the salad… … …

    Hmph – not working. Dammit!

Comments are closed.