~ Feigned Indifference ~ Catfish

This was actually not a complete random thought. There was a while where said human I have been talking about on here had disappeared, it was from New Years Eve through to perhaps the end of February, 2012. As it turned out they were in a bad accident and I had no idea. They were sorely missed and I went through these feelings described below, it’s like you turn off a part of your mind connected to them, as if they did not exist. It’s a self protective mechanism, defense mechanism if you will. I had just spoken to them the night before they’d disappeared.

Course them having been in an accident and my mother being killed in a car crash did not mesh well for me. I had a pretty severe emotional reaction to the news. I doubt I ever told them that, probably not. I was probably busy trying to reconcile an experience from when I was a child to this one where I thought I’d lost a person who I considered a friend. Yes… I remember and I also think I scolded them on their page. I was very upset.

It was New Years Eve and it was the first time we’d gone back and forth on email so quickly. They seemed more open to me and I thought maybe they’d had a few beers or something and then, they shifted in the other direction again. You feel that in your chest and I thought that was a shame because it was different and I enjoyed sensing that side of their personality.

There is a level of indifference that occurs in a person’s mind when someone we know for a while disappears. We may question where they’ve gone, then resign ourselves to the fact that maybe they are other wise entertained in some way.

It happens in real life, not only online, however I digress. One day they show back up and you’re so happy to see them and you realize that those we see on a daily basis have come to matter to us and when they are gone, they are missed.

And all of a sudden it’s like you are so relieved and happy that nothing has changed and all is right with your world. :)

Now. Pull my finger.

7072306176

This entry was posted in Personal growth. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ~ Feigned Indifference ~ Catfish

  1. That happens every time I changed jobs…. and I haven’t changed jobs all that many times 7 in my life time.. But each time we promise to keep in touch and then we never do…… I think throughout our lives we meet and greet the people we are meant to.. They give us and we give them what is required to be shared as the experience, and then they vanish…….. Gone…….. such is life….
    XoX

    • MysteryCoach says:

      Hi Sue :) Yes. I’ve experienced this myself. Some your very glad to see go, others we miss. I’m not sure if I agree in “whole” but I do like this part of what you said.

      “I think throughout our lives we meet and greet the people we are meant to.. They give us and we give them what is required to be shared as the experience, and then they vanish”

      Because the reality is, the only person we have any control over is ourselves. We can’t make someone else do anything they’re not open to. Pretty much, “period”. :)

      I hope your holiday was nice :)

Comments are closed.